Mediterranean Mimar Sinan Prize

2018 Mediterranean Mimar Sinan Prize Events

Mediterranean Mimar Sinan Prize Programme

1 October 2018 Monday

Location: Tophane-i Amire Culture and Art Center, Single Dome Hall

19:00-20:00 | Award Ceremony
20:15-22:00 | Cocktail and Exhibition

2 October 2018 Tuesday

Location: Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Sedad Hakkı Eldem Auditorium

13:45-14:30 | Nunzio Gabriele SCIVERES/ Conference/ Equivalent Prize/ Architect
14:45-15:30 | Lillo GIGLIA/ Conference/ Equivalent Prize/ Architect
15:45-16:30 | Roger SUCH/ Conference/ Equivalent Prize/ Architect

17:00-18:00 | NIETO & SOBEJANO Architects, Fuensanta NIETO/ Conference/ Honorary Guest/ President of the Jury

Honorary Guest


Fuensanta NIETO

Architect, Spain

Equivalent Prize Winner Architects


Nunzio Gabriele SCIVERES

Architect, Italy



Architect, Italy

Roger SUCH

Architect, Spain

Mediterranean Mimar Sinan Prize, which will be awarded third place in 2018, was announced in two different categories. One of these categories Graduation Projects of the architectural students who graduated in the last two years. The other category was a building constructed with young architects under the age of 45 years. Both categories also had a condition of participation from the Mediterranean neighboring countries and the evaluation criteria, the original social and spatial quality in the Mediterranean region and emphasizes the region’s rich natural, architectural and focusing on the urban fabric and the review was to create in this context, creative and contemporary spaces.

The Evaluation Jury of the award had a meeting on 11 and 12 July 2018 under the chairmanship of Nieto & Sobejano Arquiitectos partner Fuensanta Nieto, who was selected as Honorary Guest this year. Jury Members; Fuensanta NIETO, Zeynep AHUNBAY, Najla ALLANI ENAU), Mohamed AZIZA (MED 21), Cengiz BEKTAŞ, Paolo BELLONI (Politecnico di Milano), Deniz İNCEDAYI (MSFAU) Yalçın KARAYAĞIZ (Rector MSFAU), Derin ÖNCEL (MSFAU), Oğuz ÖZER (MSFAU), Nicolas PETROVITCH NJEGOSH (Fondacija Njegos) and Fani VAVILI TSINIKA (Aristotle Universty Of Thessaloniki). Substitute Jury Members; Nezih AYSEL (MSFAU) Zeynep ERES (ITU) and Figen KAFESCİOĞLU (MSFAU).

In Young Architect Category, 19 projects applied from many countries around the Mediterranean. The jury has awarded three equivalent first prizes.

  • Roger Such (Alea-Olea Arquitectura, Spain)
  • Lillo Giglia (Lillo Giglia Arcitects, Italy)
  • Nunzio Gabriele Scriveres (Nunzio Gabriele Scriveres Architettura, Italy)

In the student category, 73 projects were applied from many countries around the Mediterranean. The jury has awarded four equivalent first prizes and six equivalent honorable mansions.

Graduation Project Category Equivalent Prizes:

  • Cindy Moukarzel (Université Saint Esprit de Kaslik),
  • Margaritha Zakynthinou-Xanthi, Elena Mylona, Zoi Tzounitou (National Technical University of Athens, School of Architecture),
  • Emanuele Moro (Politecnico di Milano),
  • Catherina El Skaff (Université Saint Esprit de Kaslik) 

Graduation Project Category Equivalent Mansions:

  • Hanna El-Dineh (The German Jordanian University)
  • Mariam Barsoum The American University of Cairo)
  • Jude Abuelgnaham (The German Jordanian University)
  • Maria Angeletou, Christina Margoni (National Technical University of Athens, School of Architecture)
  • Pınar Kılıç (MSFAU)
  • Abdallah Ehsan Al-Allaf (Petra University)
Close Menu